Marmalade Season

The Seville oranges required for this delicacy are only available at this time of year; these oranges are full of pips and sour - not for eating and the pips vital for the setting.  I have been making marmalade for many years following the family  recipe of John's Aunty Eileen.  I hate the task.  I don't dislike marmalade but not that fussed either.  Last year I said we would be going away for the whole of Jan/Feb to avoid the problem. Ha! Little did we know that Covid would thwart that goal. Next year maybe.... So, no escape this season but most of the marmalade is now completed with one 'boil' left for tomorrow morning.

Rather fed up with the camera club judging system and seriously considering whether to carry on or not.  Whatever we do is wrong.  The other night I scored images, as requested by the club, between 12 and 20 - they wanted a spread of marks.  Today I hear that I was 'very harsh'!  You can't have it both ways,   To be honest, a couple of images I scored 12 were so bad that I felt this was over generous!  Mostly clubs have such a high standard it is very difficult to separate the top images.

If clubs aren't careful and a bit more respectful of the time and energy given to assessing their images, they'll find all the good judges have abandoned ship.  Perhaps it's the whole system that is wrong.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.