Rodents rule

By squirk

In bloom

The crocuses and mini daffs are fully out in the front garden. The back garden is lagging behind a bit, but the front has the most sunshine.

Poppy's walk was a fun chase-the-ball event and the ground is lovely and spongy rather than muddy. 

Hilariously, this interaction happened late afternoon:
Self-checkout: Beep, an assistant is coming to help
Assistant: Hnhmnmhjh
Me: It's for this beer
Assistant: Hmhmhmnn
Me: ?
Assistant: HmhmEyeD
Me: ID?! It's been a long time since I've been asked for that. I'm 46!
Assistant, pointing to sign: It's the law
Me: Hmm [looks forlornly in purse] Does a credit card count?
Asistant [shakes head]
Me: I guess I can't buy the beer
Assistant [presses buttons on the self-checkout and takes away beer]
Self-checkout: Get a move on

Blimey. I'll buy my alcohol at the wee wine shop from now on. I doubt it's my youthful looks, but rather a blanket policy that Sainsbury's has brought in to ID everyone buying alcohol to catch those who are under age. Poor assistant having to deal with bewildered, uncomprehending people who don't have ID.

We watched The King of Comedy with our MUBI film club friends. It was a bit of an uncomfortable watch and quite a comment on celebrity. We all agreed that Sandra Bernhard stole the show.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.