The Pepper Patch

By PepperG

Roots

The instrument is a mountain lap dulcimer (as opposed to a hammered dulcimer) and in the days before bluegrass and the Grand Ole Opry, it was very much a part of the traditional music of the Appalachians, with roots in the reels, ballads and folk traditions of the British Isles, brought by the settlers who moved further into the hills and away from the coast and the cities. To a lesser degree it was part of the folk revival of the 50's and 60's, years that I grew up in and that influenced my own stumble fingered playing and eventually many of the songs I write, like the one below. 

If you're wondering what it sounds like played in a traditional American mountain style think Jean Ritchie ( https://youtu.be/48bX-hBjVn4 ) or in a more contemporary folk setting think Joni Mitchell ( https://youtu.be/f_OtHVLAF4o ).

Though I play my acoustic guitar for this, here's a song for a Sunday. - part of my Patchwork Quilt project linking an image and a thousand words. Written last year after the virus canceled get togethers, I haven't had the chance to play it with friends or perform it at kitchen parties yet.. Hopefully soon.


How Wide is the River


How wide is the river you're crossing my son
How deep is the water you're wading
Does the river run wild while the town folk all sleep,
And where will you lay in the morning.


-----


The river is wide and the water is deep,
And cold as a dark winter morning,
It runs wild and free while the town folk all sleep,
And I'll make me a bed in the meadow.


Where does your path take you my boy
Is it winding and steep, is it narrow?
Will it lead you away from the cares of today,
And where will you sleep on the morrow


-----


The path that I walk is winding and green,
The path where I wander is narrow,
It leads oer the hills to the valley below,
And I'll make me a bed in the meadow.


Tell me my son of this valley of yours
Are there flowers and streams and doves calling?
Are there meadows as warm and soft as a kiss,
For to make you a bed in the morning.


-----


The valley is green and warm as a kiss,
As sweet as the song of doves calling;
Soft is the meadow where I'll make me my bed
To lay in the arms of my darling …. and I'll lay in the arms ... of my darling.




Be safe friends. Be kind. Care ... and the adventure continues.. 

  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.