Pictastic

By Pictastic

Peacocks at Scone

My neighbour posted some pics of her walk at Scone Palace yesterday and it reminded me how long it's been since I visited there so decided today was the day (which was fortunate as it was the last day of 'free entry'!)

Took my 'big' camera (along with the dog and the family) and hoped to bump into the resident peacocks. Well, as you can see I did!  Took lots of photos, much to my family's amusement. Liked this shot of the white one (not necessarily an albino) and a blue one having a meeting of the minds in front of the gothic chapel. For some reason I originally assumed the white one was a female but realise now it's a male too. Got a lovely plumage shot of greens and blues too - see Extras.

Watching David Attenborough's excellent "Life in Colour" programme tonight and guess what...it started with peacocks - spook! Brilliant (quite literally) facts about the peacocks tail include:150 shimmering heads on feathers of up to 6 feet tall.

Anyway hope you saw some lovely colours today too (if not get BBC iplayer and watch David!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.