Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Spring!

Today is the first day of spring - yes I know some people only regard it to be spring when it is the spring equinox but I follow the meteorological calendar and so 1 March is spring! It was chilly this morning and did not feel like spring but later the sunshine came out and it has been a beautiful day. There are spring flowers everywhere, even the blossoms are starting on the trees, and when walking in the woods there is the constant sound of woodpeckers knocking. A wonderful time of the year.

Today would have been my mother in law's 89th birthday, but she died in June last year. As we were not able to see her to say goodbye or see where she is buried it still feels a little unreal to us and so it was strange not to phone her today to wish her happy birthday.

After my walk in the woods with Xena, I went grocery shopping, and on the way the sunlight was so lovely on the river as I drove past that I decided to stop to take a photo as it suited the mono challenge today of light in B&W photography. Everything was sparkling in the light and the new shoots on the willow trees were an iridescent lime green.

I have camera club tonight which means I have to get supper prepared early. Tonight it is the Chairman's annual evening and he is speaking about his photography trip to New Zealand which I am looking forward to - when Gavin retires one day that will be the destination of our first long holiday (sshh... he doesn't know that yet!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.