Snowdrops, Straiton Pond

After essential shopping we took a stroll round Straiton Pond (extra photo), to enjoy the sunshine and fresh air.

We found coltsfoot, which the camera did not focus on and a few clumps of snowdrops, which I found hard to level in the frame but quite like the lighting. No daffodils for St David's Day, though.

We also found a bit of pondweed, which I need at home. I know that taking plants from the wild is not strictly allowed but Straiton is big and most of the perimeter is inaccessible so I assumed the couple of tiny rosettes I took will not adversely affect the whole population.

 Back home I again changed some water in our pond (for the third time), cleaning down the sides to remove as much algal deposit as possible and popped in the stolen plants, hoping they proliferate and prevent the growth of algae that turn the water to green soup, which restricts development of the tadpoles.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.