CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Ryeford bridge over the old Stroudwater Navigation

After the shopping trip to a supermarket I drove a little further on to the west side of town to look for a kingfisher site. I'd heard they have been spotted near Ryeford bridge over the canal, which is less than a mile from where I saw one near another bridge further downstream.

I walked the towpath but didn't see any, and thought it might be on account of the business of the path. I chatted to a man on one of the 'Boatmobility' boats, which provide 'accessible boating for all with mobility or learning disabilities, together with friends and families', which is an excellent project. He lived beside tnhe rtowpath and told me where he thought the kingfishers territories were, so I'll return at a quieter time.

As I came back to the bridge where I'd parked I had another crack at this scene, which I've photographed before, though with a wider lens. I like this little scene where the garden has been brought down to the canal bank. It was formerly the 'Anchor Pub' when there was a busy coal and general supplies wharf serving the important Stanley Mill two hundred yards to the south. Apparently it had special dispensation to serve beer to boat workers at all hours!

The landing stage to the right is brand new and part of the canal restoration which is nearing completion. I was really pleased to hear that the final money for the canal to be linked to the national canal network has been approved by the Lottery Fund, so the next three miles are now  undergoing major restoration. More anon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.