curns' corner

By curns

Green (and blue)

As I have been walking around the area during lockdown I’ve started to notice more and more of the these electric car charging points. I don’t often see vehicles plugged into them but, occasionally, I do. I think it’s a welcome sign that there are more and more of these popping up around Merton. I see them on out-of-the-way streets where parking doesn’t seem to be much of an issue. That’s probably a good thing for now but I often wonder how people who live on my street, where we don’t have access to private driveways and where the road is always full of parked cars, will get on when the electric car is less of a novelty and everybody has one. I imagine it would be very frustrating not to be able to charge your vehicle when it’s parked outside your house in the evening - that’s seems the best time to refuel. I wonder what the solution is?

Anyway, I thought the mix of the green light - and the green credentials - alongside the beautiful blue sky (marking a crisp February afternoon) would be a lovely picture. I still think the colours - and the sentiment - are nice but I am not sure I’d describe the result as lovely.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.