Now we have everything

By Gembop

A shower and a party

Today was a busy but fab day. After WFH yesterday I headed into the office. Almost as soon as I walked in the door my Account Manager, Danielle, grabbed me for a 1:1. The conversation felt a little strange, but I shrugged it off. However when Siobhain came looking for me at 10:30am for the weekly team meeting I knew something was up.

When I walked into the boardroom every member of the London and Norwich team (over conference line and Skype video) shouted congrats: they'd thrown me a baby shower! And incredibly spoiled I was too. They bought me a gorgeous Pink Lining 'Yummy Mummy' change bag, a baby hamper with blankets, dribble bibs, baby gro's all embroidered 'Baby Jung', amazing cupcakes with my name on and £100 John Lewis vouchers! My colleagues were incredibly generous. I did well not to cry, though I did look shell shocked in all the pics. My friend took the one above once all the non alcoholic punch had been drunk and everyone had cleared out.

After the team meeting, it was straight to the Museum of London for our company offsite. It was a great venue for the day and also for the night: we had one of their rooms for our christmas party in the evening. But before the festivities started, there was enough time for a look round the exhibits. I must admit, I was a little disappointed. There was breadth but not much depth to some of the exhibits (beyond the Roman era).

Abby and I got ready for the evening at the venue. It was nice to have some some chill time and rest my feet before forcing them in heels and my spangly dress. I was a little worried I wouldn't enjoy yet another company party sober, but I had a really good time and outlasted a number of people who hit the free bar a little too hard too early. They also served hot food (eating is normally cheating, so I appreciated the change in attitude on that one!) and had comfy chairs at the back of the nicely cosy room, where I sat down for the last portion of the evening and didn't feel out of it. I was actually really touched by the number of people who came to 'visit' and keep me company too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.