JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Project 365 day 59: Pear

The pear was turned by my Dad and has stood on my desk on little piles of papers for about forty years. I love the beautiful curves of the grain, which echo the shape so well. After early retirement from teaching, his lifelong love of woodworking became a small business: he sold turned bowls, lamps and fruit and simple, robust wooden toys at craft fairs and a great many lace bobbins at lace fairs. There is quite a lot of his handiwork around my home, much of it serviceable and almost unnoticed - my rolling pin, the coffee table he made before my parents were married, our bedside lamps... I also have my mum's lace pillow with its wonderful array of bobbins in varied woods and designs; I really should find a home for it with a lacemaker.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.