The Miss Rigdens

The view across the valley and up to the ridge of the Downs is from the road close to our gateway. The six poplar trees on the skyline are known locally as the Miss Rigdens, named after a family of sisters, I think from Victorian times. Our local historian friend, who is in his eighties and has lived here all his life, told us about them, but I can't remember the details and their story doesn't seem to be on the historical society website. I think they all became teachers or governesses, but I'll have to check when I next see him. The trees can be seen from all over this part of the valley and are a well known local landmark. Unfortunately the light was very grey and dull, as was the sky, so it's not one of my better photos of them. However, it looks a lot less fuzzy if viewed large.

Today J and M started needle felting the second cat, Millie, and I had a rare urge to clean, which proved quite productive, but distracted me from some of the things I should have done. I  picked a big box of curly kale, which will be divided between tomorrow's meal and the freezer, and helped J with some preparation for an interview about her filmmaking. I also listened to the news too many times, and had a long, sombre talk with P about it all. I can't see any positive way out of the current situation at all and fear it's all going to end - or continue - extremely badly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.