HarrietGeorgina

By HarrietGeorgina

TEDx - Enlightenment

Today I am a very proud friend, and the reason behind this is that today a good friend of mine hosted the first Youth TED Talk in Scotland at the National Museum of Scotland. I will be perfectly honest and say that up til recently I didn't know much about the concept of TED talks, however after watching first hand how inspirational these events can be, I cannot recommend them highly enough.

LB and I were drafted in on registration, and after name tagging each eager 14-18yr old, we were allowed to sit back and enjoy the event. Speakers included Gregor Lawson (founder of Morph suits), Richard Clifford (founder of MakLab in Glasgow) and Gavin Oattes (managing director of Tree of Knowledge). These entrepreneurs certainly fitted the 'Enlightenment' theme that the event today was structured around, and if these young students paid half as much attention as me, they potentially have very fulfilling futures ahead of them.

After our long day, a couple of drinks were in order to celebrate hopefully the first of many successful youth educational events...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.