Passed again . . .

It's time for the MOT on Mrs B's delightful little Audi A1.  It's nine years old, but it's as solid as a rock and great fun to hurl into corners.  My first cars, a Mini van and a Morris 1000 Traveller were nearly that old when I had them, but the quality was not great.  Each had its problems with rust: the Mini had a tilted subframe which meant that the gear stick kept being knocked out of 2nd and 4th gears, whereas the "Moggy Thou" had great rusty rips in the front wings which earned me a licence endorsement and a fine of £75 (the rust was exacerbated by my lack of an exhaust, which had fallen off the previous day).

I loved those old cars, even the MG Midget which its slipping wire wheels, but they required so much careful nurturing to be sure that they would start and not fall apart.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.