Strawhouse

By strawhouse

New Bike

21.02.21
Today was finally the day! I went over to Halfords at the appointed time and picked up Miss L's long awaited new bike. She loves it!!
I was hoping to avoid the Tesco delivery but the van pulled up just as I did. Sigh.
Instead of two boxes of twelve medium eggs Mr Tesco bought one box of medium and one box of large. Obviously the picker had just scanned one box twice and then picked up two boxes from the medium shelf not noticing one was large and in the wrong place. I know that from my extensive shopping picking experience before Christmas! I also know that the picker didn't check the eggs (like I would have done.) Or didn't put them in the tray properly (like I would have done) because one box had two smashed eggs in and bizarrely the other box had an egg missing!!
Anyway, I was immediately struck by how similar in size the large and medium eggs were. In fact, some of the "large" ones looked smaller than the "medium" ones. The Little Misses came to look and before we knew it we were weighing each egg,  tabulating the results and coming up with an average. 
The average large egg weighed 65.81g and the average medium egg weighed 65.90g. 
The smallest egg was in the large dozen and in both boxes the largest eggs were the same weight.
See! I was right!!!!
So, in summary, if you buy large eggs from Tesco (which are 35p a packet more expensive) stop, you're being ripped off!!
The spreadsheet of averages led to a very interesting lecture from Mr K about standard deviation.  4.31g for large, 3.41g for medium if you're interested!
We know how to spend a Sunday morning!!!
Later in the day we went out so Miss L could try out her new wheels. She loved it! (See extras for an action shot. Taken in the same place I realised she needed a new bike a few weeks ago) While we walked Archie she and Miss E zoomed off at top speed. Brilliant! After about an hour Mr K and I came home and left them out. Under strict instructions to be home by 4pm - a treat for Miss L who hasn't really been out on her own much. It was 3.30pm and I wanted to walk into town before the shop shut to get a couple of things missed of the delivery earlier.
I bumped into Miss L's teacher on the way down and had a nice chat with her. Fingers crossed tomorrow's Lockdown press conference will confirm they're going back to school on March 8th.
Home to discover thankfully the Little Misses had made it home in one piece, cook a roast dinner, watch people doing pottery and then argue with Miss L about it being a school night even though it doesn't feel like one and no, she can't have screentime until 10pm!!!
I told her we could weigh some more eggs if she was bored!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.