fototherapy

By GirlKojak

Angel

For he will order his angels
to protect you wherever you go.
They will hold you up with their hands
so you won't even hurt your foot on a stone.
(Psalms 91:11-12, NLT Bible)


I've had it in mind to blip Angel of the North ever since I joined blip. So, since the weather forecast was good for the afternoon I headed up. Most of my shots were disastrous! The sun was very bright and low in the sky. I couldn't seem to get the camera settings right from any angle, and even with my back to the sun he came out as jet black, despite being a lovely rusty colour. Originally I was going to blip a less edited shot than this, but this one got the most 'likes' and comments on facebook, and it is quite an unusual angle of a very photographed landmark!

I love the Angel, but then I love the work of Antony Gormley. I realise he has was fairly controversial in the early days, but I think most people love him now. I remember a documentary about the story of the Angel from concept to unveiling, and a young kid from Gateshead said she felt it was a protective presence. That is exactly how I feel. Those wings are open wide in a gesture of both welcoming love and protective shield.

Song of the Angel


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.