paperTIGER

By papertiger

Love.

Being deeply loved by someone gives you strength, while loving someone deeply gives you courage.

-- Lao Tzu


This is a photo of me just as I was about ready to head out of the door this evening to my friend's engagement party. I had a nice photo from the night of her and her man, but decided against using it as I want to explain why tonight was so special, but for her to have that privacy too.

You see, until the end of November we were colleagues. Then she turned 29, started an amazing new job, her boyfriend got promoted and they got engaged. All within the space of a couple of weeks. Almost too good to be true, because then she was diagnosed with a pretty serious illness. I last wrote about her here ...

Tonight was special for so many reasons ... But not least because I think that my friend is truly incredible. She is brave and honest and optimistic and courageous and brimming with faith.

Oh, and the funny moment of the night was when I realised I was wearing the same dress as her mum. Mortification. Going to try really hard not to do that at the actual wedding!!!

I'm not going to tell her I wrote this, but I secretly hope she'll stumble across it.

I think she'd like it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.