Onwards and upwards....

By Yana1

2257. New Gimbal!

So onwards with my technology image for today...here is my new gimbal which hubby bought me for my birthday yesterday...

It’s very complicated to set up and so far I have only managed to stabilise two of the three axes successfully....when you alter one it affects the other two and I lost patience with it last night.  Once done I’m sure it will be awesome to use...but a lot more work than I first thought but I’m sure I’ll get there.  I also decided to use the gift vouchers I had for my birthday to buy a couple of accessories for it...one was a quick release plate for the camera as unscrewing the DJI one is far too difficult for me to do all the time...the device comes with a phone mount (for controlling the gimbal through the phone app) which is designed to sit on top of the camera on the hot shoe...but when I fitted it and tried to balance the whole thing...it was just too tricky.  I bought another adaptor which fits on the side of the grip which won’t affect the balance settings at all so will be much easier to add and remove.  So I’m waiting until the new accessories arrive (tomorrow) before trying again.  I think it will be fantastic for street photography but also for video which I’m looking to do more of.  I’m currently using it balanced with my 60mm lens as balancing a zoom means using a fixed focal length and I’m not too sure how I lock my lens..or even if I can as moving the zoom in or out would affect the balance.  I’ve watched all the videos so I now have a better idea of what to do to make the most of it and I’m sure it will open up a new world of photography for me!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.