The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

For Mary

My mom was born in the month of March. She was an Aries through and through, and although she was at times insecure, she barged through life boldly.

Mary's smile was beautiful, and her gray/blue eyes were kind and sparkled when she laughed. Actually, my mom cackled, which made those around her laugh all the more.

One of my fondest memories of childhood is of how excited my mom would get when the Forthysia bushes would bloom. "Spring is finally here," she'd say. It could snow the next day, but she would still insist that Old Man Winter had said his last good-byes.

Today, I was surprised to find Forthysia branches in one of my local grocery stores. I had stopped there for something I couldn't get in town, and had to pause and take this photo.

For those of you who "Blip," you know instinctively when you've found your entry for the day, and this one spoke to me loud and clear.

One final Love Child tidbit for the day: As I was driving down a side street today, a female Cardinal flew over my car and directly into a low bush.

My mom's favorite bird sitting in a Forthysia bush, patiently waiting for Spring.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.