A Day In The Life

By Irish59

Knock-Knock

Stepping out the backdoor to fill feeders emptied by deer friends, I scanned the trees from right to left, then did a double take. A flash of red had caught my attention. I looked over to my left again and there it was, a pileated woodpecker clinging to a tree across the road! It’s only the third time I’ve seen one, and it’s been two years since the last sighting. A pair have likely been here all along as they do not migrate but they are shy birds, somewhat elusive • I returned to the house to retrieve my camera but lost sight of him. I moved around to the front of the house, stood still, and listened. Before long I was across the road standing on top of a snowbank. I was pleased to get a couple of decent shots, the first ones ever! A good day :) • In 1940 Woody The Woodpecker, an animated character, was created. The sound he made was modeled after a US West Coast woody, the Acorn, but his physical appearance was the East Coast’s Pileated Woodpecker • Who’s There? It’s Woody!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.