Cr055ie

By Cr055ie

Great Grandad Samuel Levi Maltby

At the weekend my sister invited me to join an ancestry page on Facebook for the village we used to live in as children.  I joined not really sure why she would have invited me to look at it.  I was really shocked to see picture of my paternal Great Grandmother (photo in extras) so looked further into the page.  

We had lived in Selston in Nottinghamshire from 1971 to 1976 but I had no idea that the Maltby family had originated from the village.  I knew my Great Grandparents had been buried in the church but really had not given it any thought.    The page has really enlightened me and really caused a lot of conversations within the family.  I now have seen photographs of relatives I had never  been fortunate enough to meet.  Discovered that my Father had a lot more Aunties and Uncles than I had realized, and even read the tragic story of my Great Uncle Sydney Dexter Maltby who died in Egypt in a tragic accident.   I now know that my Great Grandmother was the local midwife and delivered most of the children in the locality, and that my Great Grandparents were actually first cousins.  Is that shocking for the time?  Or is it more shocking that her first born was 'born out of wedlock' and Samual Levi is not the father?  

Today I have been sent a number of old photographs  from my second cousin (I think that is what she is), and I have uploaded them to our own nostalgia page and the ancestry page.  

Facebook is amazing when used properly.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.