Just for MY record.

It has returned to haunt me.

A very  l  o  n  g   time ago; at the dawn of history, I had a garden accident.  At some age, guessimetrically mid/late teens to very early 20s, I was gardening very enthusiastically.  So much so that I raised (And burst) a blister on my palm, just about the juction twixt palm and  ring finger.  It was duly washed, but apparently not well enough. 
In short order my hand assumed the shape seen top left with fingers, it seemed, a mere two joints long.
I have no memory of any great pain - BUT - it was deemed wise to see the Medic.  He duly lanced it, over a bowl; which slowly filled as my hand emptied, I'll leave the, "of what", to your imagination.  The line on the top left is where he seemed to make the incision.
The line on the top right is where the scar was after my long suffering mit resumed more natural proportions.
The bottom pair are a comparison of now.  The only way the left hand digits can now be caused to touch is to slowly make a fist.  When said fist is complete they touch.  It's getting no worse, noticably, as far as I can tell but the pins and needles feeling never totally goes.

For the record - I inherited that odd nail; the "Chicken Paw" as Mam called it from Mam, who had one very similar toe nail.  While I was a school lab tech, the younger kids were informed it was especially for grabbing them by the log-hole.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.