D77

By D77

Pleasantfulness

The first day back at work after a holiday is usually a dreadful experience but I had quite a nice day today. The students made me smile as they rushed to congratulate me and proclaim how much they missed me last week. Also, the usually grating netherworld creatures were very subdued (helped in no small part by one of them being on holiday) and the fact that they jumped in at the last minute to cover my lessons last week meant that I made a concerted effort to be pleasant to them today.

Being nice to people has the obvious disadvantage of having to listen to them witter on more than I'd like, but it also has the advantage of them being nice back and therefore not seeming nearly as annoying as usual. I may try being nice more often.

Most of the teachers are actually lovely people and Joseph in particular is one of the nicest guys in the college. A really quiet but sweet bloke who keeps himself to himself, he comes from India and has lived in Muscat for about ten years with his family. He has come out his shell quite a bit recently regarding his banter with me and was quick to offer his congratulances* this morning.

"Congratulations David. Now you will get very fat with all the nice meals Larissa will cook for you!" he said.

Yeah, erm, we'll see about that.






*© wingpig (which reminds me, roofs or rooves?)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.