If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Wren (Troglodytes troglodytes)

Looking out at the birds in the garden I was very pleased to see a pair of Song Thrushes (well I assume they were a pair, only another Thrush would know).  I was even more pleased to get shots of one of them in the bush, on the seed tray and on top of the bird table.

Then I spotted a movement low down among the ferns.  I assumed this would be a mouse or a shrew, so I kept watching.  The movement was then higher among the ferns.  No surprise there as the climb well enough.  Then out it popped.  Not a little furry creature but a feathered one.

For anybody reading this who isn't familiar with the word Troglodyte it means "Cave dweller".   The Wren builds a nest up against something e.g. a rock or bank.  The front is totally enclosed apart for a little hole for entry.   They are also generally very well camouflaged with moss etc.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.