Blip meet walk

FarmerGirl picked KiwiLizzie and I up this afternoon and we went down to the Lyell River in the Buller Gorge. We did the loop walk (about 2 hours) up one side of the river and down the other. A lovely walk through beech forest, visiting the old cemetery and other historic sites of interest, though some of the climbs early on were a bit rugged! I did a fair bit of huffing and puffing but it was worth it.

At one time the Lyell was a booming wee gold town - now there is nothing left but a cemetery and some old mining equipment - not a house to be seen, not even an old stone chimney.

A pair of robins visited us as we walked so of course we had to stop to take their photos. This cheeky one had a go at unpicking the stitching and opening the zip on my backpack but my photos of her doing it weren't very successful.

Here FarmerGirl has blipped an image of the other bird - I suspect it is the baby of my one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.