I can walk with my moon boot on

Today was the day that  I completed 6 weeks non-weight bearing and although I had my pot off last Monday and they gave me the boot I’ve continued taking the weight on my left leg this week.  Well I felt that today was the day to see what happened, so after my shower I came downstairs and put my boot on and a trainer with a slightly different and deeper sole than I’ve been wearing and took my first tentative steps, supported by my Frame.  Well I can do it, walk that is, and although I’ve been taking the frame with me, I can actually walk.  ( The action is quite hard after you’ve been programmed to hop for 6 weeks but I can put one foot in front of the other and take weight in my right leg.). Ok, so the thing now is not to overdo it.  Walking is so much easier than hopping.  I get to places in no time using less than a tenth of the energy.  I can still feel my ankle scars inside my boot which are reminding me that there is still some healing going on.  One thing that I did clarify last Monday, which I wasn’t sure about, was that I had no fracture in my ankle but the main damage was the ligament that runs up the centre of my leg, though I did have a fracture of the fibula, which is not the weight bearing bone and which they leave to mend on its own.  A new life beckons as long as I take it slowly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.