The Unwinding

A book for World Book Day - a day late!

I have not quite made up my mind about this rather strange book. I have loved the work of artist Jackie Morris in the Words and Spells books, her work in collaboration with Robert Macfarlane, so I could not resist this one, which is her work alone. 

It is smaller than I imagined it would be, said to be a pocket book, which I suppose it is . . . just. But quite why one would want to put it in a pocket I don't know. It is said to be a book 'for dreamers'. It purports to be a book for the 'unwinding of the soul' in troubled times, for 'peaceful harbours where imagination can stretch'. It is indeed a series of dreams in words and pictures. All rather beautiful, perhaps a little too fantastical, but then dreams can be fantastical. 

Anyway the artistry is magical and it does make for a book to ponder on and yes, maybe escape the real world for a short while. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.