Battle Scarred

How wonderful that after such a difficult year the government has stepped up to show appreciation for health staff and awarded them a 1% pay rise!

It's been a nice bright day although there's been a chilly wind blowing. I decided to go for a bike ride. It was quite enjoyable, I went through Ideford and up to Ideford Common. From there I went on to Ashcombe and it was there it all went wrong. I hit a pothole that I hadn't seen in the strong sunlight. The bike upended and threw me over the bars to faceplant on the tarmac. Funny how the thought goes through your head, "this is going to hurt!"

As I picked myself up a lovely couple rode up from the opposite direction and offered me lots of help. After I'd got over the initial shock and found that although my face was badly grazed I wasn't bleeding too heavily, I decided to carry on home. I was about 4 miles away so plodded on, up the steep hill and back over the golf course. I must have looked quite a sight judging from what I saw when I got home. I won't post a selfie! I think it might have been worse without my helmet which has a small visor.

These are some lovely trees I passed by on my journey.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.