Smiling down from Our Guardian Oaktree

Its been a busy sunny day. And I dont like the idea of summing up or describing what and why and where. I prefer to try to find out what kind of experience I can remember as remarkable of people and things I encountered in the course of the day. I will try to make up those personal memory fetches at random, more or less.
What was new? I got my hair cut for the first time since mid December. By an unknown hairdresser. Mostly being done by the owner-haistylist. But I prefered it done now and not towards the end of the month. Usually I would have felt insecure. But now I let her or the cutting go.  Felt comfortable under her touch. She handeld her new customer with care. Afterwards I saw tattoos on her arms. A mother of three schoolgoing kids. We did not talk much. But it feels good. Coming out of dark Covid-wintertime into the fresh-cold Sunny air.
And what has been so lovely, emotional? My whatsapp-call with Mischa at midday. No, I’m not going to tell about what we were talking. But simply this situation: Sitting in the sun behind Our Great Window. The shopping bags left on the kitchen table. DarlingDaughter tells about Dolf. She too is sitting in the sun sipping her Latte. We really stay in frequent contact, sometimes thingstodo, sometimes on things that happen. Now it was hanging out on each other. So warm, so near, so lovely. We haven’t met physically since September.
Something funny perhaps? Indeed, I went to my personal GP-office to pick up my recipe. The docters-assistant had problems with her desktop and vanished under her workingtable to try to fix it. I waited and waited. It was a very busy morning with many other patients waiting, standing even in the staircase. The assistent finally managed to improvise acces to my Healthinsurance Card. My docter joined, greetet amicably. Too busy for real communication. I bowed, keeping distance. Perhaps another time. We like each other. I left the building after half an hour. Glad to hang aside my mask, breathing into the Sunny morning.
Our gardener came uphill to see around and plan a bit our cuttingactivities in a few weeks. He knows this garden from before we came here. He advised on waiting in patience what our damaged roses will do towards spring. No immediate cutting back, but following first where new life will still sprout. It is almost freezing as the sun sets. He too had his hair cut. On Monday! Pulling off his woolen bonnet. I’m ready until next Christmas, he says. Showing his head, almost bold..We laugh, He and his family have a small bussiness. They came through this winter. Not being forced to close down. We will do this garden and the Grave together. Hands on. He’s the boss. He knows best. Willemien will smile down from Our Guardian Oaktree.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.