stujphoto

By stujphoto

Belhaven Bay

What I was aiming to give you today was a shot of some of our garden birds flying. I set up the tripod in the garden near the bird feeder and focussed on a two metre patch of air just to the left of the feeder. I set up my Canon 7D to take jpegs on continuous drive which it can take at roughly 8 frames a second and set a fairly high ISO so I would get shots at about 1500th of a second. Then I retired to the house to shoot of action sequences whenever birds came near the feeder using my remote radio trigger. However, on the whole the birds did not materialise so I only got four sequences in a whole hour of observing and my shots were blurred , grainy and generally crap,so back to the drawing board. !!

Instead I had to take some grab shots when I was taking the dogs on their afternoon walk with Baxter pulling away at the lead. So this is Belhaven Bay in the late afternoon by which time it was fairly overcast but the tide is nearly fully in and the water nearly static so I was able to get some nice reflections. The famous Bridge to Nowhere is practically hidden againts the Winterfield Golf Course in the distance, though you will just be able to see it if you view LARGE. The houses and chalets to the right are Belhaven Village.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.