Explore, Dream, Discover

By Snowcycle

Exmoor Ponies

A very breezy day for the first Sunday ride of 2021. The first weekend in a while without snow, it seems everyone who has a bike is out regardless of the fact it is windy. I head south west in to the wind, not very fast. It takes ages to get to the turning point, and that's just 1/3 of the route. Finally I get to the switchbacks to climb up to Toxside, and wind assisted from there. As I head past Gladhouse, Extra, I stop to take a photo. From there I head towards Temple, more red faced cyclists heading in the wrong direction. I am also cycling downhill and they are not. Even so I am quite tired by the time I get to Bonnyrigg, so I have an energy gel to see me up the hill out of Lasswade (in to the wind) before heading north and back home over the Braids.

In the afternoon (after lunch and a banana) I head up to the T-Wood south of Swanston and take the high path back to Lothianburn. It is from the high path I take my blip of the Exmoor Ponies on the slopes of the Pentland Hills.

A busy day, but it is nice to get home for a coffee, and some restorative chocolate. I also have a two day working week to look forward to.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.