The Wild Heart

As is our frequent weekend custom, my husband and I went for a several-hour hike in our local gamelands. When we returned home, we accidentally woke Dexter the Tabby from a Caturday afternoon nap on his favorite chair. I had my camera close by, and snapped a few photos of his just-awakened self. (Oh that we should all awaken this gorgeous, with not a hair out of place!)

When I looked at the picture later, I imagined I saw a little something wild looking out at me from behind our Tabby's eyes. Can any of us truly tame the wild heart that beats inside the tiny tiger we've taken into our hearths and homes? Maybe not. But we can love completely even those creatures whom we have not completely tamed.

The song to accompany this image is the final track from Stevie Nicks' excellent 1983 CD, The Wild Heart: Beauty and the Beast.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.