His Simple Rose

By HisSimpleRose

Delicate But Strong.

Almost fainted at work today.
Been feeling ill for quite some time... weakness, a cold here, a cough there... big headaches. Exhaustion.
I worked extra, helping out with the big move at work - packing things, sorting through old random documents, finding memories and old drawings by me, climbing to reach the top of the filing cabinet...
I enjoyed it. I felt useful. I did a good job... until I started shaking.
I ignored it.
I felt dizzy. I ignored that too.
I was determined to get on with my work. If someone noticed my unwellness then great, and if no one noticed then great. I stopped shaking, so I didn't bother making a big deal out of it.
I was sweating. Really bad.
We had a team meeting, and I could feel myself pinching my finger, letting a paper cut bleed. My hands were shaking again.
I got a glass of water, and on my way back into the office, a colleague spotted the shaking.
I mean, it was hard not to. I couldn't even hold the glass straight.
She gave me a hug. Tried to stop my hand from shaking. For some reason, my hand was in the shape of claw.
They laughed and took the mickey. I laughed with them.
They made me sit and eat a lolly. I've broken my no snacks fast.
I worked again, until I felt faint and couldn't leave the cabinet I'd sat on.
They looked after me, others asked after me, concerned. A baby squeezed my nose and stared at me, nodding.
I stayed an hour and a half longer than I should have done, because I couldn't make it to the bus stop.
There was no one available to pick me up.
I got a taxi home, and the thing that annoyed me most about that, was that I'd bought a day saver that morning. The driver didn't know the way, so I had to give him directions. That kept my mind from wondering, and my body from sleeping.
I went to bed, watching some films, couldn't eat a meal, ate a chocolate muffin. Turned my light out at 8:30pm, with a text asking how I was.
It's nice to know people care.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.