Creepy af

One of Cambridge’s main arteries has this restaurant window display adjacent to quite a narrow stretch of pavement. I have been known to be almost startled into the road, especially when walking past it late at night, when the road is quiet and creepy. If it’s supposed to entice passersby to patronize this establishment, it isn’t working.

Key updates from today:

* Jack left fresh focaccia in the office as a snack for me to munch. When I messaged to pass on my thanks he apologised for the ‘soggy bum on this batch.’ I confirmed my enjoyment of the treat had not been dampened.
* A cluster of baby boomers was waiting outside Superdrug for their vaccination slot. I read something about 2.5 million doses being administered per week, which is impressive.
* A friend, as friends who don’t work with me often do, said ‘heads must roll’ about my visa situation. The NGO sector is terrible at under-resourcing and martyring itself for the cause. In many organisations, visas and flights are handled by a dedicated team, whereas we handle these things ourselves as we know others are too stretched to do it, and they can’t be up to speed on the idiosyncrasies of the process. It results in a failure to spot issues until they reach crisis point, to the detriment of both individuals and the important work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.