7D N3 S3

First I would like to dedicate yesterday’s blip to Silly Saturday.  If that’s not silly enough then read on.
 
Just in case you were wondering, my 7D packed up months ago, and the cost of repair was as much as a small camera, so just not viable, so:-
 
My expensive Canon TC-80N3 ‘Timer Remote Control’ has an N3 plug to fit the N3 socket on the 7D.
 
My EOS R has a S3 socket, and is there an adapter from N3 to S3?  Well there was but it’s no longer available.  There is, however, plenty of advice and instruction on converting your N3 to S3 by cutting off the plug and wiring it to an S3 plug. 
 
Are S3 plugs available - they are just 2.5mm stereo plugs with a different name.
 
Not wanting to cut the plug off I looked for different ways of trying things out like sticking bits of wire in the plug (which is more like a socket) - this didn’t work.
 
So how do I get hold of a socket (which is like a plug)?  Now my 7D has got one which is redundant . . .
 
See diagram above.
 
 
Part 2  (I’m not sure where Part 1 started)
 
Whilst endeavouring to solder wires to the back of the socket my soldering iron went bang (to be honest ‘pop’).  New soldering iron arriving from some river in South America (I think) later today.
 
 
Very many thanks to KangaZu for hosting this month’s tribute to Admirer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.