JennyOwen

By JennyOwen

Late winter's day in the park

We were busy yesterday, with Frieda here.  Then Eben came for tea and a sleepover: the treat he has been looking forward to since lockdown started.  We had a lovely time, revisiting our usual routine - some TV, some board games, a chatty bathtime, bedtime stories... pancakes for breakfast, and a chilly visit to the park across the road. Eben's name for the park is 'The Dingdongs', because of these metal plates that chime when you jump on them.  Happy times.
Just before lunchtime, Richard and I dropped him off at High Riggs Biodymamic Garden in Stannington, where Ruth and Josh work: although not formally on duty this weekend, they had a few small outdoor jobs to do, and we all knew that Eben would enjoy joining in.
This was our first visit to High Riggs.  The most eye-catching part, during today's brief visit, was a fabulous rhubarb bed: the new stalks are pushing up vigorously, and it all looks wonderful. I'll be back with the camera before long, when I can. Ruth has asked for my advice about a possible plan for them to keep some donkeys up there; it's my (hard-won) knowledge about pasture management and equine-centred training and management routines that she has in mind.  She also knows that with no pony to look after these days, I've been missing that world. So we'll see what we can make of these thoughts, together. It will be a pleasure.
After lunch I fell into bed and slept for 2 hours: what a luxury.  Although my back's much better, it still niggles at night, and I really needed a catch-up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.