The second half of life..

By twigs

Terns with a twist

Today was, to put a twist to a well-known saying, a day of three thirds.  Morning was sunny, warm and summery; afternoon was cloudy, grey and sticky and this evening is dark, wet and cool. Thank good ness I took this pic this morning!  Speaking of this pic, this guy really peed me off.  Don't get me wrong, I have no issues whatsoever with him spending some great father-son time doing what they were both clearly loving doing.  The issue I had was with where he chose to do it.  I'd been set up in this location with my camera clearly visible and clearly trained on the terns for some time.  He took not the blindest bit of notice of me, what I was doing or the birds and continued to sweep the beach with his metal detector, gradually closing in on both me and the birds.  The birds weren't in any danger, but naturally they were disturbed as he approached and flew off thereby disturbing me too.  I've posted this pic because, for me at least, it tells a story and reminds me that being cognisant of the needs of others is something I value.  Of course, there are some who will question the awareness I have for them, particularly their privacy......afterall, I've posted this image with neither their knowledge nor consent.  In my defence, I've deliberately chosen this image because the bird's wings do a great job in hiding his face, the lad is in heavy shadow and on close inspection you'll note that very little (if anything) is actually in focus!  Oddly - I also quite like the image.  Anyway, rant over.  I know this is only a small thing and there are far bigger global issues for us to concern ourselves with at this time, but at least I've got it off my chest.  

On to better things - like a glass of nice wine :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.