A Sunny Day

It's been a lovely sunny day around 7C and I've spent a lot of time in the garden. A bit of heavy work in shifting some gravel, plus moving a few shrubs around. I also cleaned out the bird box. 

Day 356 / Day 61 of Lockdown 3 (for my record only)
UK deaths up 82 to 124,501 (revised basis), with 5,177 new cases,10,898 patients in hospital, 1,542 on ventilation and 707 new admissions. 22.2m have now received their first dose of the vaccine and 1.1m have had their second dose. People aged 56-59 are now being invited for a vaccination (I wonder if I'll get a letter even though I had my jab 9 days ago). Dr Susan Hopkins of PHE has said that the UK should prepare for a 'difficult autumn' because of the threat of new variants of concern and a potential surge in other respiratory viruses such as flu as population immunity might be less due to hardly any other such viruses this Winter. Nurse leaders are asking for an update to PPE guidance to use more FFP3 masks which filter out infectious aerosols - I'm very surprised there's not been more on aerosol spread of the virus as I remember writing ages ago about not using hand dryers as they create aerosols. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.