Flowers

I wanted to blip some flowers to mark that it's exactly 1 year since the first reported Covid death in the UK, and today we neared 125,000 deaths, each one a terrible loss for their family and friends. I'm still amazed that not only have several successful vaccines been developed, but that 2/5 of UK adults have already had a jab. This morning I had a good Houseparty catch up with 2 of my sisters, then this afternoon I did a bit in the garden (still very cold!)

Day 355 / Day 60 of Lockdown 3 (for my record only)
UK deaths up 158 to 124,419 (revised basis), with 6,040 new cases,10,898 patients in hospital, 1,542 on ventilation and 826 new admissions. 21.8m have now received their first dose of the vaccine and 1.1m have had their second dose. There is growing anger at the 1% pay rise offered to NHS staff and concern that it is seen as undervaluing staff and will be the final straw which could lead to a lot of resignations. I concur totally with Prince Charles' comments in a speech that ' This pandemic has shown us the true nature of a global emergency. We have learned that human health, economic health and planetary health are fundamentally interconnected and that pandemics, climate change and biodiversity loss are existential threats which know no borders.'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.