Green Lane

Went off on my own for a meander around Undermillbeck Common and some footpaths I've not been on before. I left Mr P washing the car. It was good to be able to stop and take photos without him disappearing off into the distance.  This is Green Lane, one of those old unclassified roads , that can be used by "recreational motor vehicles"  - like quad bikes and trail bikes.  Its very rutted in places and I met only a mother and son on their mountain bikes racing towards me this afternoon. 

The Virtual Walk. 
With yesterday and todays 's longish walks I am racing along Hadrian's Wall.  I crossed from Northumberland into Cumbria and took a detour to have a look at 12C Thirlwell Castle , past a few more milecastles and arrived at Birdoswald Fort.   Luckily the Google Street View runner did a view circuits of the fort so I could have a good look round . Carried on the Wall to the village of Walton ( I wonder where it gets its name from !) where there is a café and a brewery. Civilisation at last,!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.