The one and only

I now have Chesney Hawkes in my head!  This is my one and only hellebore at the moment, but I am pleased that it looks pretty good.  I chopped them right back last year because they were all leaves and poor flowers, fingers crossed more appear.

The morning was passed in, amongst other things, frustrating recorder practice.  My tutor spotted that my fingering was not quite correct, but I'm struggling to adjust my finger memory and feel like I am going backwards.  Having stiff joints doesn't help.  I will persevere.  

After lunch I took a close look at the mini meadow to record what is coming up, and I ordered some yellow rattle plugs.  There is no sign of the rattle seeds emerging yet but when I did some googling, it appears it is too early as yet, so let's hope some of them took hold.  There is certainly plenty of plantain on its way, some greater willowherb, hawkbit and sorrel.  The chicory is emerging too.  We shall have to keep that in check this year.  Tony is growing some wildflowers in the greenhouse so we will be able to add in cornflowers at some point.

Following a cuppa we took a walk around the moor in the improving light.  After another grey, cold day it was lovely late afternoon.  Apparently we have a serious storm coming in midweek!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.