Ink Polaroids

By inkpolaroids

Amsterdam

Yesterday to Amsterdam with K.

A lovely day with no many photos but lots of laughs, good conversation and tea. A day out with K. is better than any of the pills I take for my ever-aching back.

There was a demo on the Dam which we missed but afterwards there were all these roses lying on the ground. Earlier on in the day there was a 'Freedom' march sadly snaking it's way through the town. Brandishing yellow umbrellas and with buskers at the front they made their way down the canals. Police presence was heavy in case of things going down, but the only thing that went down was the mood - there were not many people joining in and the weather was cold and depressing so the whole thing was just sad.

Can you get demo burn-out? Every fekking week these people are marching through the town or occupying, well, anything they can, but nothing ever changes and frankly the police could be doing other things. The amount of horse shit every Sunday afternoon after these demo's is frightening.

I appreciate I sound like the old fart I am but I've been around long enough to know that these things change very little. I respect and support what they're doing - I wish I had things I felt about so strongly that I would go on a march in support but I'm old and tired and cynical. I just want to be left alone, particularly on my day off when I don't want to be confronted with anger and confrontation and division.

Then home for dinner, and the evening spent watching "Bloodlands" (or trying to, I just can't follow it, it's too complicated) and reading. K. got in touch later on and we spoke for a while.

Then to bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.