I want to love you

Liz told me last week about the huge number of frogs in the bilious pool up by the old railway line. I resolved to go today hoping for some sun but it was reluctant to emerge. Weather forecast a bit uncertain for tomorrow and definitely not good for Wednesday.

Basil and I drove up and parked close to the entrance. I'd taken my long lens in a shopping trolley which proved onerous. Should have just carried the camera. I was a little concerned as we approached the pool that I couldn't hear them but there was in fact a gentle undercurrent of croaking. A multitude of them were disporting themselves in the water. I wish I could have got nearer but then I'd have ended up sliding down the slope into the pool. 

Not as much water in it as there had been last year. In fact, I think the ground is becoming ominously dry. We need the forecast rain.

I can't sex frogs so it was very difficult to say who was hugging who. Seems as if it was a lot easier to fend off unwanted advances in this bigger pool compared with my garden pond. Speaking of which, I have seen just one frog briefly in my pond this year. Last year we had masses of frog spawn. Perhaps they've all moved up to the railway line. Having moved my shopping trolley out of the way under a hedge, a worker from Id Verde came to trim off unwanted growth on said hedge. Two more frog pics in the extras.

Basil and I walked up to the last rise before Tickow Lane along the path by the field parallel to the railway line. It's much easier to use. It felt like a long way back to the road.

Must go out now and buy a butternut squash now for tonight curried chicken traybake.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.