Cockpit Hill

I walked to the post box to post off my written up research into my paternal grandmother's side of the family.  Some of my Dad's cousins are still alive and I thought they should benefit from what I have been finding out over the last few years so they can share it with their families before another generation disappears. I've spent lockdown writing it all down as a story so they can follow it, with pictures of churches and graves, where I have found them. There not many of Dad's cousins left, at least not that I know how to contact,   I hope they appreciate it when it drops through their letter boxes. 
I went past Cockpit Hill, shown here, which according to local sources was the site of cock fights in the past.  Cock fighting was banned in England with the Cruelty to Animals Act of 1835 although it carried on in Scotland for another 60 years 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.