If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Eycott Hill Cumbria Wildlife Trust Reserve.

I had hoped to take Boris up on his easing of the lockdown and meet Kanyl for a short walk but things conspired to make that not sensible for today.  Clickychick had been at the studio in the morning so in the afternoon we popped out to the local farm shop for a few things.

On the way home we made s short detour to the Eycott Hill reserve.   Normally I would take shots of Blencathra from here but as you can see somebody has moved it.  So I settled on this shot showing the route down on to the reserve.  The flat topped hill on the skyline is Eycott hill itself.  The reserve is the CWT only upland reserve and is famous among geologist for the "Eycott Hill Lavas" which outcrop from halfway to the hill up to the summit (or thereabouts).

The extra is a lichen from the dry stone wall for my own records.   I have tentatively got it down as Aspicilia calcarea.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.