NKOTB

More than four years after first experimentally plinking in a music shop prior to going camping, more than eight months after G's useful information-provision and kind loan and after a week-and-a-bit of watching DHL's package-tracking information very closely I finally got round to getting a ukulele for the times when a guitar isn't portable or fun enough. I was hoping that there'd be some middle ground between the non-wife-eyebrow-raising prices for the beginner things in local music shops and the greater expenses of the internets but after several weeks of visiting music shops, waiting for the staff to stop staring at me then plucking fitfully and scowling at the poor intonation (and horrible tone, especially compared to something good) I went for something three-quarters decent but then had to wait for it to make its way here from Germany, though at least after ordering I could stop spending my spare hours traipsing between music shops and comparing reviews and prices on the web. Though nicely plinky I found a soprano just a little bit too wee so went for a concert despite the reduced choice and slightly duller sound. My choice of strings for guitar has always been based on playability but with this it's going to be the sound - the collective consciousness heavily recommends Aquila strings and even before mine have stretched and settled down after replacing the set it came with I'd definitely agree - much brighter, slightly more tense and not a nasty yellow colour.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.