atoll

By atoll

Lost In My Own Little World?

"What's new?" I hear my very small but loyal band of subs say: Let's be honest, looking back on my 12-month blip record, the list of my journals that don't involve either incorrigible MrsB or her cooking; daughter J or mum; various old boozy bosom buddies; public art or architecture; fishing or hunter-gathering; odd-shaped cloud obsessions; random things that just happen to pass my front door; or anything Manchester United related; will be a very small one.

In honour then of that myopic northern world of mine, today's picture is a 'stereographic' shot converted from my disappointedly washed-out 360 panorama taken upstream of the Red Lion in Burnsall. Me, MrsB and mum had gone for a stroll along the river, before taking a spot of light lunch back in the pub in front of a wood fire. I also got the chance to slyly reccy the River Wharfe just two weeks before the start of my beloved fly fishing season - haha. This then truly sums up my sad 'little world'.

When I originally set out on Blip back in March 2012, I thought I would be lucky to keep things going for just a few months. As things would have it, looking back on the past year (and on the day before my 365), it has been such a blast. What I didn't prepare myself for, was just how much I would be drawn into, and then be educated, moved and amused in equal measure, by other peoples lives, thinking and generosity of spirit. And these people from all over the world, that I didn't even even know existed before - and all with such wicked senses of humour. I have really treasured the experience.

So, did I achieve what I set out to do for my own little blip this time last year? Well I set myself the task at the start that a photo would be taken every day, and that they would all be taken on, or be processed by, my iPhone. As far as I can recall, that has been the case, so that is good - though I now know the iPhone camera's limitations (zoom, bad light and nighttime basically).

I also prophesied in my profile that "the story I tell will often be very personal; probably at times be far too detailed; and possibly both obscure and obtuse in equal measure!" I think it is fair to say, I probably managed all those qualities rather too well and too regularly. Half the time I am sure my blip friends didn't even know what on earth I was rattling on about (and for why). Not sure I always did myself even.

Hey, thanks for putting up with me all - It has been emotional!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.