Stormy weather

Stormy weather. This afternoon, instead of having Our much needed walking, all kinds of noise kept me inside. Most of the time. Falling branches, rushing old leafs., sliding buckets. A kind of howling-growling invisible beast kept stalking through the rivervalley.
I felt comfy behind the big window, reading. Being aware of these forces playing around, I felt rather safe. Even when suddenly a sharp bang of clashing metal somewhere outside broke through my concentrated reading. Later on I would discover how near had tumbled the old rocking bench on the veranda.
So Cap on, jacket and clogs and out into the garden, securing the kitchendoor. I felt like a skipper who is forced to go on deck, to lash and fix the fluttering sails and other things rolling around. Even without cords  my work looked good enough for a stormy night to come. Tomorrow we can put things back into place.
Then, back in the sheltering inside, tea at hand, I had two nice and interesting telefoneconversations with Our old friends Anica and Gerlinde. Sitting back at Willemiens workingchair behind the window, I felt confident in this new life. Less noise outside. The storm lowering down. And finally  the sky opened up in a small slit just above the horizon.
In the background of Our Guardian Oak hughe wild clouds gathering, Black, darkgrey, Prussian Blue, traces of white, just leaving a long narrow chink for a last firy wink of the vanishing sun. It seems rather quiet now. A good&peaceful night to you all.
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.