Beinghere

By Beinghere

Reflections in a Pond

Slow start again.  I wish I could get up in the morning feeling fine and ready for the day ahead, instead of sluggish and tired.

We went to Shell Bay wood for our walk today.  It`s been almost 2 weeks since we were there.  There was more green to be seen; grass and moss and ferns and saplings.  Although there were about 10 cars in the carpark we met no one in the wood, which suits me just fine.  Geordie had a great run around with his trailing lead while I broke-in my new walking boots, which are actually pretty comfy now that I`ve added good insoles.  One of the reasons I chose the woods today was because of the wind, which was pretty strong.  In the woods I couldn`t feel the wind, but I could certainly hear it.  It sounded like a train at times.
Geordie came back every time I shouted on him; running at great speed and plonking his bum down at my feet in readyness for his treat.  Whenever anyone sees him do this they comment on what a good boy he is.  And, yes, that could be said if that is all they see.  Today I put him back on his lead much earlier than usual so he wasn`t expecting it.  That avoided the issue of him getting anxious and refusing to come near.
Last evening when he asked out I put his lead on and went out with him to the garden.  He was a bit surprised, but did his business and we walked back inside.  This avoided him getting frightened or agitated, barking, and refusing to come in.
I also kept the blinds closed in the sitting room this morning so he couldn`t adopt his pose on the sofa, scanning the street for any person, dog, or cat to bark at.  (This is part of his emotional detox)
I`m off now to do a bit of training with him to help his focus.
We will get there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.