randomgirl

By randomgirl

Secret field

Only been in this field once before, a few years ago. I found it a bit spooky and disconcerting that time, partly because it was difficult to get into (an awkward bit of fence to climb) and I wasn't sure how to find an easy way out......but also because it felt enclosed on all sides by trees, with no obvious entrance and a rather ominously dark stretch of wood all along one of it's lengths.

Today I happened to venture in by an easier route (lower fencing!) and just enjoyed exploring around it. I didn't feel so perturbed by the atmosphere this time, because I had already discovered the proper way out....down a rough bit of track that goes through a stream.

I took the main photo because I particularly liked the look of the short, old tree in the centre. Maybe I'll go back in the summer months and try to work out what type it is.

In the extra is a picture looking back at another field - just next to and above this one. Out of the two it's the field I would normally walk in, and has a lovely view out to the Beauly Firth and the Black Isle. But today I came back there for the first time in a while and discovered a whole chunk of it at one end has been carved out by a digger and a tarmac drive has been laid! I don't know what they're going to build here.... maybe a house? A bit of a nasty shock, and I'm upset that we probably won't be able to walk in it anymore.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.