Penguin Droppings

By gen2

The Rail

I went through to the bird hide at Kinghorn again this afternoon and immediately realised my mistake. I previously decided that Sundays were not good days to visit. I managed one snap of a bluetit when a couple with a young child arrived, but at least they kept quiet. As things started to settle down and I had managed a single shot of a little grebe, another couple arrived - this time the toddler was noisy and they even proceded to push the youngster through the viewing hatch! I think they sensed my displeasure and left rather promptly.

Another peaceful interlude saw the birds starting to return when I spotted a sudden change in attitude of the nearest pair of mallards - yes another family invasion of 3 kids and 3 adults was about to happen.

By the time they left, the light was fading and so I was about to pack up when . . .

No, it wasn't a moorhen, the red was in the wrong place. Also the white stripe was more like speckled bands. Altogether a different bird and one I had never ever seen before. I suspected what it was but had to wait until I had access to my bird books at home to confirm it.

YES FOLKS - IT WAS A WATER RAIL.

Water Rail - Rallus aquaticus

Quality-wise, it isn't the greatest of blips, but as a lifetime first, it just had to be my Blip for today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.